Skip to content

Multi-tasking fail: Too many hobbies.

December 2, 2009
multi-tasking desktop
Image by natala007 via Flickr

I think I have too many hobbies. If you gloss over the archives of this fine blog, you will see things that normally do not co-exist in either a person or a blog. Where else do you find talk about power distribution one day, bike lane design the next followed by firearms and finished off with baking? No where but here. It seems like quite the metaphor considering my career history. I’ve had my hands in everything from desktops, servers, wireless microwave networks, home theater design, security systems (video and biometric), green smart home engineering, customer relationship management software and much more. It’s bin an interesting career to say the least.

Here are but a few things that I’ve had the pleasure of hobbying around in.

  • Aikido
  • Judo
  • Photography
  • Cooking & Baking
  • Firearms
  • Computers
  • Audio and Video Systems
  • Writing
  • Model Rocketry
  • Programming (Web and otherwise)
  • Reading
  • Gaming
  • Foodie culture
  • Cycling
  • Politics
  • Architecture
  • Aviation
  • Urban Planning (including transit systems)
  • Green stuff
  • Home Decorating

I wonder if I can even focus on one at a time. That may be a good challenge for the coming year.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
  1. December 2, 2009 12:29 am

    Great Blog post. I am going to bookmark and read more often. I love the Blog template if you need any assistance customizing it let me know!

  2. December 2, 2009 11:57 pm

    Fortunately you’re a blogger, so it’s okay. :) What I’ve been learning from the series of tubes we all yell through is that the internet is a stranger beast than the written word, even though words are all over the place.

    I too am curious about whether I should be focused like a laser on one or two things or just meander. However, I tend to err on the side of meander because (like you) I have a variety of odd interests. You never know what pursuit will enlighten some other that you have, so I say be creative and see how it turns out.

    When you approach writing as an exploration wherein you don’t know where you’ll end up, it’s useful to consider the odd angle now and again.

  3. December 3, 2009 2:45 am

    I don’t think I am capable of focusing like a laser on a single item. My multi-tasking and instant now now now of our generations may have ruined that for me.


  1. Multi-tasking fail: Too many hobbies. « holy crap my hair is on fire « Internet Cafe Solution
  2. Multi-tasking fail: Too many hobbies. « holy crap my hair is on fire

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

